• Part of
    Ubiquity Network logo
    About SKS Publishing information

    Current Series

    The works published in the SKS academic series are available at the SKS online store.

    Publishing Committees

    Manuscripts that are submitted to the SKS academic series are assessed by the publishing committees after internal review. The committee for each series will nominate at least two expert reviewers for peer-reviewable manuscripts and provide their assessment of the manuscript based on the statements of the nominated experts.

    The SKS publishing coordinator acts as the publishing committees’ secretary, taking care of the reviewer system as well as the archiving of the manuscripts and statements. The publishing coordinator is responsible for coordinating the peer review process for SKS’ Finnish-language academic series and acts as the liaison between authors and expert reviewers. The editor or deputy editor-in-chief of each Studia Fennica series is responsible for coordinating their peer review processes.

    SKS Publishing Committee

    The SKS publishing committee goes through the manuscripts that are submitted for the SKST and Tietolipas series and nominates the related expert reviewers. The committee also makes the final publishing decision for other series at the recommendation of the SHS publishing committee or the Studia Fennica editorial committee.

    Adjunct Professor Kukku Melkas, University of Turku (Chair)
    Research Director Juhana Aunesluoma, University of Helsinki
    Professor Outi Fingerroos, University of Jyväskylä
    Adjunct Professor Ilona Herlin, University of Helsinki
    Secretary General Tuomas M. S. Lehtonen, SKS
    Publishing Director Kirsi Keravuori, SKS

    Finnish Historical Society Publishing Committee

    The Finnish Historical Society’s (SHS) publishing committee is responsible for the submissions to the Historiallisia Tutkimuksia and Historiallinen Arkisto series and the nomination of their expert reviewers.

    Adjunct Professor Maarit Leskelä-Kärki, University of Turku (Chair)
    Pro­fes­so­r Jari Ojala, University of Jyväskylä
    Professor Ilkka Huhta, University of Eastern Finland

    Adjunct Professor Heini Hakosalo, University of Oulu
    Professor Raisa Toivo, University of Tampere
    Adjunct Professor Ville Vuolanto, University of Tampere

    Publishing Director Kirsi Keravuori, SKS

    Studia Fennica editorial committee

    The editor-in-chief for each Studia Fennica sub-series is responsible for the submissions to their series and coordinates the related peer review processes. The deputy editor-in-chief assists the editor-in-chief and acts as their substitute.

    Studia Fennica Anthropologica:
    Editor-in-chief Professor Timo Kallinen
    Deputy editor-in-chief Adjunct Professor Kenneth Sillander

    Studia Fennica Ethnologica:
    Editor-in-chief Adjunct Professor Katriina Siivonen
    Deputy editor-in-chief Postdoctoral Researcher Eerika Koskinen-Koivisto

    Studia Fennica Folkloristica:
    Editor-in-chief postdoctoral researcher Karina Lukin
    Deputy editor-in-chief Adjunct Professor Anne Heimo

    Studia Fennica Historica:
    Editor-in-chief Adjunct Professor Sari Katajala-Peltomaa
    Deputy editor-in-chief Heini Hakosalo

    Studia Fennica Linguistica:
    Editor-in-chief Adjunct Professor Laura Visapää
    Deputy editor-in-chief Adjunct Professor Salla Kurhila

    Studia Fennica Litteraria:
    Editor-in-chief Adjunct Professor Viola Parente-Čapková
    Deputy editor-in-chief Adjunct Professor Saija Isomaa